Cannabis can be a difficult thing to keep on top of – indeed, the rules and regulations surrounding the growing of marijuana vary from state to state, with some states being totally fine with their residents having cannabis plants in the back garden, while others still haven’t legalized cannabis at all.
As such, today, we’re on hand to help you understand the rules surrounding growing and using marijuana in California to help you get the best from your new seeds, while staying on the right side of the law.
Is Cannabis Legal in California?
First of all, we need to discuss the general legalities of growing and possessing cannabis in California. The minimum age for cannabis consumption and growing, as with alcohol, is 21 years of age. The maximum amount of cannabis that can be kept in your possession at any one time is 28.5 grams (an ounce), too, so it’s important to stick to this; however, you are perfectly allowed to keep the rest of your cannabis harvests safe at home.
Specific Californian Cannabis Growing Rules
In addition to this, while California does allow for the growth of and consumption of cannabis, doing so needs to remain private and for personal consumption. In fact, growing or using cannabis in a public place is still very much illegal. This is also the case for outdoor-grown cannabis plants that can be seen from public locations, such as a neighboring park. In many neighborhoods, public growing is prohibited, so always take caution and check your community’s specific rules. However, the state law says that growers cannot be prohibited from growing up to the maximum of eight cannabis plants indoors, even if the property is rented or an apartment.
Meanwhile, for cannabis growers in California, there is a maximum limit of six plants being grown. Unlike with some other states, the rules for growing cannabis plants in California are applicable to all germinated plants on the premises. This is in contrast with some other American states, whereby plants are only counted after they have begun the flowering process. As such, the rules regarding the number of plants that you can have on site are more limited in California than in some other countries. With that being said, six plants can still yield a substantial harvest of weed, so this is usually more than reasonable for most cannabis growers – especially if you opt specifically for high-yielding strains that grow well in the California climate, such as the ever-popular Gorilla Glue strain.
In summary, then – while the state of California has numerous laws and rules for cannabis growers to follow, the law is largely on the side of the home grower. The main thing here is to ensure that you keep your cannabis growing private, lawful, and follow good etiquette. Don’t grow more than you need, don’t sell your weed, and don’t grow cannabis plants somewhere that might disturb your neighbors or other members of the public.
Potential Complications of Growing Cannabis In California: What You Can be Penalized For
When it comes to growing cannabis in California, it’s crucial to be aware of the rules and regulations. As such, we’ve come up with the following short summary to help you understand what you can and cannot do regarding cannabis in California.
Personal Legalities for Cannabis, Hash, and Concentrates
First of all, let’s summarize the rules surrounding personal cannabis use. California residents are allowed to possess up to 1oz of cannabis with no fine, but above this will incur a $500 fine and 6 months incarceration. Furthermore, there is a penalty of $500 if cannabis is taken onto school grounds. Possession limits for hash and concentrates is reduced to a maximum 8g, with over 8g giving $500 fines and up to 6 months jail time.
For those under the legal age for cannabis consumption in the state, there is a penalty with a 10 day penalty and a $250 fine
Sale, Delivery, or Intent to Distribute
Selling or distributing cannabis in California is illegal (with the exception of licensed dispensaries), and can result in a fine of up to $500. Gifting someone under an ounce of cannabis has a $100 fine but does not come with incarceration time. Meanwhile, selling or supplying cannabis will come with much more severe consequences. Jail time for supplying cannabis to a 14-17 year old can result in between 3 and 5 years, meanwhile, supplying to under 14-year-olds can have a jail time of between 3 and 7 years.
Unauthorized manufacturing of hash and concentrates can result in a $500 fine and between 16 months and 3 years of jail time. Meanwhile, chemical manufacturing can have a jail time of 3 to 7 years and a fine of up to $50,000.
As explained previously, you can grow up to 6 cannabis plants privately. Growing more than six plants can result in a $500 fine and 6 months jail time.
California has legalized cannabis use and growing, and this can give many people the chance to grow their own cannabis plants. However, it’s crucial that you follow the relevant legal issues when doing so, to ensure that you don’t get caught out breaking the law. Moreover, all cannabis growers in California should always keep a close eye on the legalities as they change, to ensure that no rules are broken.